Brief History

Long before the coming of the Spaniards, Kawit was already a thriving settlement, and when the colonizers came, they called the settlement “CAVITE EL VIEJO”. It is the oldest of the three parishes established during the administration of Manila Archbishop Garcia Serrano (1618-1629).

The town was the first anchorage established by the Spaniards in Cavite province. It was where the Jesuits built a parish church in honour of Saint Mary Magdalene. The colonizers soon found a better place, also a part of Kawit, and developed it as site of its navy yard. This former town of Kawit is now known as Cavite City.

The town got its name maybe based on the hook-shaped shoreline from Manila to Sangley Point, Cavite City. The Filipino term for the word “Hook” is Kawit.

A short distance from Cavite navy yard was a placed called “TIERRA ALTA”, because of its higher elevation, fine stream, cool climate, and rich vegetation, became a favorite vacation resort and hunting ground for Spanish ‘conquistadores”. This territory is now the Municipality of Noveleta, which seceded from Kawit in 1908.

In the early days of the Spanish rule,   Cavite City,  Noveleta and the City of Imus were part of Kawit..But in  October 1795, the people of Imus, through a Recollect Father, petitioned the Spanish government that they be permitted to secede from Kawit and to establish a separate parish. Thus, from the old Cavite El Viejo sprang Cavite City the Municipality of Noveleta and Imus.

Historical Significance

 Kawit played a major role in the Philippine Revolution of 1896 and in the Filipino-American War. It was in this town where the Spaniards met their first major setback when Filipino insurgents, led by the town’s Capitan Municipal by the name of EMILIO AGUINALDO Y FAMY, captured a contingent of Spanish soldiers from Dalahican headquarters who were about to arrest Aguinaldo and other municipal officials suspected of being Katipuneros.

The initial victory of the Katipuneros under the leadership of Aguinaldo was followed by a string of other successful battles against the Spaniards, bringing fame and glory to their young leader and laid foundation to his becoming the President of the First Philippine Republic. It was on June 12, 1898 when General Emilio Aguinaldo proclaimed the Philippine Independence on the balcony of his Mansion (The Aguinaldo Shrine).

Aside from General Emilio Aguinaldo, this small town produced another five (5)   generals of the revolution that contributed to the attainment of the Philippine Independence. They were: Candido Tria Tirona, Crispulo Aguinaldo, Daniel Tria Tirona, Baldomero Aguinaldo and Tomas Mascardo. The history of Philippine struggle for freedom will not be complete without mentioning these prominent figures who contributed immensely to the establishment of the First Nationalist Democratic Republic in Asia.

 Political HistoryKawit Municipal Hall

The New Municipal Hall of Kawit located at Brgy. Batong Dalig boasts of being the symbol of a resurgent community, at par with its neighbors and continually striving to be a globally competitive municipality. The well defined structural design and architectural lines characterize today’s Kawit, strong in its conviction, geared up for the challenges ahead, and always ready to respond to calls for modernism. It is also a concrete demonstration of Kawit’s rise from a struggling town to one in the forefront of innovation and progress.

Kawit Old Munipal Hall

The old Municipal Hall will however be preserved as a testimony to the Kawiteños struggles and victories in the past. It was where the great Gen. Emilio F. Aguinaldo held office in his younger political days, aside from playing hosts to a number of notable historical episodes including the Agaw Armas, one of the first acts of heroism and courage of our forefathers. The ground floor of this old Municipal Hall is still being used as Kawit Post Office and PNP Headquarter and Office of the Municipal Social Welfare and Development.

List of Municipal Mayors:

1. Hon. Leon Sta. Rita
2. Hon. Leoncio Mata
3. Hon. Ladislao Lucero de Manila
4. Hon. Leon Mateo
5. Hon. RonquilloPoblacion
6. Hon. Juan Capistrano
7. Hon. Anacleto dela CruzTabon
8. Hon. Jose Lopez Lumibao
9. Hon. Valeriano CelestialTabon
10. Hon. Ignacio SamaniegoPoblacion
11. Hon. Estanislao TironaPoblacion
12. Hon. Carlos AguinaldoBinakayan
13. Hon. Agripino RietaWakas
14. Hon. Mariano Ayson
15. Hon. Licerio Lagda
16. Hon. Justo DañoBinakayan
17. Hon. Santos Torres
18. Hon. Eusebio de CastroWakas
19. Hon. Crispulo AguinaldoBinakayan
20. Hon. Emilio AguinaldoKaingen
21. Hon. Candido TironaPoblacion
22. Hon. Angel JanijorgeBinakayan1900 – 1902
23. Hon. Julian LegaspiKaingen1902 – 1904
24. Hon. Benigno SantiWakas1904 – 1905
25. Hon. Andres NerBinakayan1905
26. Hon. Tomas MascardoPoblacion1905 – 1906
27. Hon. Justo KalagayanBinakayan1906 – 1910
28. Hon. Manuel VictaTabon1910 – 1914
29. Hon. Canuto EncarnacionSta. Isabel1914 - 1918
30. Hon. Aurelio SantonilSta. Isabel1918 - 1920
31. Hon. Ciriaco RonquilloTabon1920 - 1924
32. Hon. Gavino ToledoWakas1924 – 1926
33. Hon. Francisco RamosKaingen1926 – 1928
34. Hon. Mateo RedTabon1928 – 1930
35. Hon. Potenciano ResurreccionBinakayan1930 – 1937
36. Hon. Ricardo SantyPoblacion1937 – 1938
37. Hon. Marcelino ValesSta. Isabel1938 – 1940
38. Hon. Segundo CaimolBinakayan1940 – 1942
39. Hon. Agapito QuiamzonPoblacion1942 – 1945
40. Hon. German BayKaingen1948 – 1956
41. Hon. Epifanio VictaMarulas1956 – 1959
42. Hon. German BayKaingen1959 – 1968
43. Hon. Florentino Bautista JrBinakayan1968 – 1979
44. Hon. Ramon ResurreccionBinakayan1979 – 1986
45. Hon. Felicismo BautistaBinakayan1986 – 1987
46. Hon. Benjamin LegaspiKaingen1987 – 1988
47. Hon. Federico PobleteMarulas1988 – 1998
48. Hon. Bienvenido PobreKaingen1998 – 2001
49. Hon. Federico A. PobleteMarulas2001 – 2007
50. Hon. Reynaldo B. AguinaldoBinakayan2007 - 2016
51. Angelo Emilio G. AguinaldoBinakayan2016 - Present